Account Users (or logins and authors) refer to people who are authorized to log into your Caspio Bridge account, to manage data, create and edit DataPages, create and edit styles, setup and monitor scheduled tasks, etc.

The number of logins available for each account depends on its plan and options for creating account users become available if your plan allows for more than one user.

Note that this document is not about app users. App users are unlimited for every Caspio plan and are discussed elsewhere.

Account users can be granted their own set of permissions at the user level and at a group level. Groups provide the ability to configure specific permissions that can easily be applied to multiple users.

Account Users

Adding a New User

Steps for adding a new user to your account:

  1. On the top menu bar of Caspio Bridge, click Account, then Access Permissions.
    What_are_users_and_groups_1
  2. Click New User on Access Permissions screen to add a new user.
  • It’s important for the email address to be correct, as it is how the user receives an invitation email with a link to confirm and setup their password.
  • Use the Groups area to give the user permissions of a Group.
  • Use the New Object Creation area to specify what new objects this user can create.
  1. Click Create when done.

The status of the new user will be Pending until the new user completes the account setup process. After account setup process is completed by the user, the account is activated and the status changes to Active. If the new user does not set up the account within 7 days, the user status will change to Expired and the admin needs to delete the user and add the same or another user.

The administrator can disable a user account using the Disable link which appears when hovering over a user’s name.

Managing Access Permissions

To configure user level permissions to various objects of your account, hover over the user’s name and click on Permissions.

On the Permissions screen the user’s permissions to various objects is displayed in two columns. The user will have that specified permission on an object if either column is checked. The Allow column is specific to this user and can be enabled or disabled on this screen, while the Inherit column shows the permissions received based on the groups the user belongs to. To remove group level permissions the user must be removed from the corresponding group. You can also set up permissions at the object level.

Objects to which a user has no permissions on are entirely hidden to them.

Users with Manage Permissions option on an object can grant or revoke other users permissions to the corresponding object.

Password Management

Users who don’t remember their password, can request to reset their password using Forgot Password option on the login screen. The Password Reset page by default is for account admins, but also provides an option for non-admins of accounts to request password reset.

Inside Caspio Bridge, users can change their password from Account menu My Profile option.

Account Lockout

Depending on the Security Policy of each account, a user may be locked out temporarily or permanently if they repeatedly fail to enter their correct password. Account administrators can unlock user accounts.

Groups

Groups management options are available for accounts that include more than one user.

Three built-in Groups are available in Caspio Bridge and additional custom groups can be added. Built-in groups are: Administrators, App_Managers, and Everyone.

Members of the Administrators Group have full access to all objects in Caspio Bridge.

Members of the App_Managers group have full access to all Applications definition objects but not any other object.

Group Everyone’s permissions are customizable by the administrators. While it is not shown in the User Add/Edit form, it is applied to all users and whatever permissions available to Everyone is given to all users.

Adding a New Group

On the Access Permissions screen, click the Groups tab.

  1. Click New Group.
  2. After providing a name and an optional description you can select as many users for this group as you wish. All permissions granted to the group are provided to its members.

What_are_users_and_groups_5

  1. Once the Group is created, you can hover over the group name in the group listing screen and select Permissions to configure object permissions.