The following can cause the link to go to the first step:

  1.      Expired link:  The reset link expires two hours after it is issued.
  2.      Single attempt limit: For security, only the first attempt/click on the link allows password reset. Additional attempts will make the user to start over. So double-click on the link will cause the redirection as well.